The state of Georgia takes drug offenses seriously. As a result, the penalties can be harsh for a conviction. If you have been arrested for a drug crime involving cocaine, you should know what to expect.
What are the cocaine laws in Georgia?
Drug charges involving cocaine are among the most serious. As cocaine is an illicit drug, a person who is found possessing, selling or trafficking it can face harsh penalties for a conviction. Offenses involving cocaine are classified as a felony. Depending on the number of drugs involved, it’s possible that an offender spends up to 30 years in prison.
What kind of penalties can you face for cocaine crimes?
A person can face as much as 15 years in prison even for first-time cocaine drug charges involving possession. Even a minute amount of cocaine in one’s possession is considered a felony offense. If someone is found possessing more than 28 grams or an ounce, he or she can be charged with trafficking, which carries a minimum prison sentence of 2 to 15 years for a first offense. For a second offense, a person could face 5 to 30 years in prison.
If a person is convicted of selling cocaine, he or she can face 5 to 30 years in prison for a first offense. Additional offenses can result in being sentenced to 10 to 40 years in prison.
For a trafficking conviction, an individual could face 10, 15 or 25 years in prison and a fine of $200,000, $300,000 or even $1,000,000 depending on the amount of cocaine involved.
People who are convicted of these drug charges can face even harsher penalties depending on certain factors. For example, if the offense took place in a school zone or around a child, a prison term may be increased.
A person who faces these charges may also be ordered to enter treatment programs. Many first-time offenders are required to attend counseling in Georgia instead of serving prison time.
Drug charges involving cocaine can negatively impact your life. It’s important to fight back and prove your innocence or get the charges reduced.