If you are found to be in possession of a controlled substance in the state of Georgia, you may be subject to multiple penalties. The severity of any sentence that might be handed down in your case will be determined by multiple factors such as the type of substance that you were found with. It may also be determined by the amount of marijuana, LSD or heroin that is found on your person.
The potential penalties for possession of marijuana
You could be charged with a misdemeanor for being in possession of less than one ounce of marijuana. If convicted, you could spend up to a year in jail, pay a fine of up to $1,000 and spend up to 12 months helping with public works projects. Possession of an ounce or more of marijuana is considered to be a felony, and you could spend up to a decade in prison if convicted of the more serious charge. It is also a felony to sell, distribute or deliver this substance in the state of Georgia.
Possession of other controlled substances is a serious offense
State law says that you could spend up to 30 years in prison for being in possession of Schedule I or II drugs. Examples of Schedule I drugs include mushrooms, LSD and ecstasy while Schedule II drugs include opium, codeine and cocaine. You could also face up to 30 years in prison for selling or distributing these substances. It may be in your best interest to consult with an attorney if you are facing state drug charges.